Apply for full time study through UCAS

HND Cloud Computing

Apply for part time via Halesowen College application

Course title

Level 5 Pearson BTEC Higher National Diploma in Cloud Computing

Campus location

Whittingham Road

Why study this course?

The Pearson BTEC Higher National Diploma in Cloud Computing is a Level 5 vocational qualification. Successful completion can help your career and academic development in several ways:

  • Entering employment
  • Continuing existing employment
  • Linking with the appropriate vendor accredited certificates
  • Committing to Continuing Professional Development (CPD)
  • Progressing to university

The BTEC Level 5 Higher National Diploma in Cloud Computing is designed to support progression into relevant occupational areas or on to degree-level study.

You will work on a series of assignments set in real-life scenarios throughout the course, which will help you develop the practical knowledge and skills, employers and universities are looking for.

Length of course

Full time: 1 year

Part time: 2 years

Compulsory modules

Unit 12 – Cloud Computing Research Project (Pearson-set) (Core)**

Unit 13 – Cloud Architecture Design (Core)

Unit 14 – Operating Systems in the Cloud (Core)

Unit 15 – Cloud Systems Integration (Core)

Unit 16 – Information Security Management in the Cloud (Core)

**30 credits.

All other units are 15 credits.

Optional modules

Unit 25 – Machine Learning (Optional)*

Unit 28 – Business Intelligence (Optional)*

*optional units are subject to change.


Full Time available for 2023 entry:

  • You will attend College two days per week (FT) where you will participate in a range of activities, including lectures, workshops, seminars, tutorials, group work, presentations, and practical activities.
  • A range of resources are available including books and journals from the Learning Resource Centre on Campus, as well as online learning materials posted on the college virtual learning environment and a range of open source software.

HE Programmes in the Event of Lockdown


There are no exams. You will engage in a range of learning and assessment styles and be encouraged to become effective and independent in researching and presenting individual and group work.

Work-based assignments are encouraged. Apprentices and others in employment are encouraged to engage with their own practice and to share knowledge and expertise with others through activities such as group work and presentations.

Example modes of assessments include written assignments, presentations, case studies, reflective portfolio entries, problem-based learning, reflective journals, seminars, independent studies, workplace investigations, self-evaluation/needs analysis, evaluations, literature critiques.

How to apply

Full-time students should apply via UCAS Apply, using the UCAS code: CLCD

If your qualification(s) are not listed, please contact Halesowen College’s Admissions Team for further guidance on 0121 602 7888.

Entry requirements

Learners would be required to have a fundamental understanding of Computing demonstrated through a level 3 qualification at grade PPP or above or 1 A Level in a related area.

The profile should be supported by GCSE grades A* to C (9 – 4) in Mathematics and English Language.

Mature learners may present a more varied profile of achievement that is likely to include extensive work experience and/or achievement of a range of professional qualifications in their work sector.

Applicants are expected to have previously achieved the HNC in this subject.

Start date

September 2023


September 2023 course timetable to be confirmed


September 2023 course timetable to be confirmed

Course fee 

Full time: £5775

Part time: £2887.5

HE Loan available to eligible applicants.

Should any applicants have questions or queries concerning finance, please contact Admissions for further guidance:

Phone: 0121 602 7607

Or via the live chat facility on the College’s website

Course code


Study mode

Full Time and part time available for 2023 entry

Our accreditation and awards